WHO Collaborating Centres

The WHO Regional Office for Europe can designate so called “collaborating centres” (with the approval of WHO headquarters in Geneva). These centres implement agreed work plans in their own area of scientific expertise or major specialism for a specified period of time.

WHO collaborating centres are institutions such as research institutes, parts of universities or academies, which are designated by the Director-General to carry out activities in support of the organisation's programmes. Currently there are over 800 WHO collaborating centres in over 80 Member States working with WHO on areas such as nursing, occupational health, communicable diseases, nutrition, mental health, chronic diseases and health technologies.

The Federal Centre for Health Education (BZgA) has been a WHO Collaborating Centre for Sexual and Reproductive Health since 2003.